在香港开设企业银行帐户:终极指南

你是打算在香港开展新业务,还是已经有想要扩展到亚洲的业务?

这些只是你最有可能需要在香港开设银行帐户的众多情况中的两种。

让我们把坏消息说出来:在香港开设银行帐户并不是一件容易的事情。准备好投资时间和金钱,但并不能保证你最终能在银行成功开户。

值得庆幸的是,现在出现了替代传统方式处理银行事务的方法。

1. 为什么在香港开设公司银行帐户很难?

在很大程度上, 这要归功于巴勃罗·埃斯科巴(Pablo Escobar)或巴拿马文件(Pablo Escobar)等国际犯罪活动。为了打击这些活动,世界上几乎每个国家都决定对银行实行严格的合规规定。简而言之,银行必须知道他们的客户是谁,并监控他们的交易。跟踪客户无疑是一件好事。

然而,随着合规规定每年变得更加严格和复杂,对银行来说,实施这些规定的成本越来越高。如果出现问题,还可能面临数十亿美元的罚款。与此同时,银行通过中小企业获得的收入停滞不前。

你明白了吗? 成本在上升而且罚款的风险很大,意味着银行对服务中小企业的兴趣越来越小。

这趋势并非香港独有; 然而,香港已成为最难开设银行帐户的地区之一。香港商界地方监管机构甚至要求银行解决这一大问题。

2. 寻找适合你业务的银行帐户

你与公司有业务往来,则需要一种特需的银行帐户:公司银行帐户。 公司银行帐户是以你公司的名义开设的银行帐户。 一些银行也将此称为业务银行帐户商业银行帐户

为什么我们必须澄清这一点?

首先,在申请帐户时,你必须使用正确的术语。

其次,太多的企业家使用个人银行帐户(即以他们的名义开设的帐户)来开展公司的业务。 当需要进行公司核算以及支付公司和个人相关的税务时,这是造成灾难的因素。

3. 即使你的公司不在香港,你也可以开设公司银行帐户吗?

是的。在香港境外注册的公司在香港申请公司银行帐户是完全合法的。

然而,银行通常不愿为非香港注册的公司开设银行帐户。设身处地为银行着想:一家在香港没有业务的公司,为何需要在香港开设公司银行帐户呢?当公司来自某个以缺乏透明度而著称的异国他乡时,开设银行帐户尤其成问题。

因此,在香港境外注册的公司开设公司银行帐户并非不可能,但也不怎么容易。当你在该地区有商业机会时,你可以考虑与在香港成立的公司合作。它会让你在银行方面更轻松,并使你有更多时间专注于业务。

4. 你可以在线开设公司银行帐户吗?

根本不可能在网上完成整个过程!或许有几家银行允许你在线提交申请表格和文件,但你仍需在香港与他们会面以完成开户流程。

通常,公司至少有一位董事必须去银行。但是,根据银行的不同,所有董事和股东可能需要召开实体会议。

不要以为你只需出现在分行,与银行代表会面并当场开设公司银行帐户。银行需要你签署申请表,提供文件清单以及信息。简而言之,在去银行之前做足功课(查看他们的网站/打电话咨询),否则你只是去了一趟世界上最昂贵的城市,最后只听到银行代表向你解释开户的过程!

5. 开公司银行帐户需要多长时间?

在公司银行帐户建立并运作之前,你应该花几个月时间准备。一切始于会议,银行代表将要求你填写申请表,并提交有关你公司的某些文件和信息。

然后你的申请将经过审查。审查至少需要几周的时间,但是如果拖了几个月也不要感到惊讶,在此期间,你可能会被要求在任何特定的时间提供更多的文件和解释。

无论多么令人沮丧,重点是要记住,你无法采取任何措施来加快这过程。

这个过程以“是”或“否”的答案结束。“否”是银行的商业决定,银行不会向你提供做出该决定的具体原因。

6. 在香港开设公司银行帐户需要什么文件?

首先要做的是填写银行提供的开户表格。大多数银行都可以在网上获取表格,这意味着你可以在网上下载,在去分行之前填写好表格。

以下是一些有用的链接:

你还需要收集银行要求的所有必要文件。

不同的银行有不同的要求,但是文件清单通常包含以下内容:
  • 董事会决议:该决议的目的是批准银行开户,并授权一个人向银行处理申请。通常的做法是授权公司的一位董事。
  • 成立文件:证明贵公司正式成立并有效注册的所有文件。对于香港公司而,这包括公司注册证明书(样本)、有效的商业登记证(样本)以及公司章程
  • 公司结构图:显示公司股权和管理结构的图表。该结构图必须在一页纸上列出公司的董事股东最终实益拥有人。它还必须显示每个股东在公司的所有权比例。
  • 身份证明文件:董事、股东和最终受益拥有人的身份证明文件(护照、身份证或驾驶执照)的复印件。
  • 居住证明:董事、股东和最终受益所有人的水电帐单或银行对帐单。居住证明必须表明居住地址且日期通常不能超过3个月。
  • 商业计划:简单的商业计划,解释公司的业务,并给出公司未来12个月的支出和收入预测。

通常,有些文件必须由律师、公证员、注册会计师或公司秘书认证。所有这些专业人士很可能会向你收取服务费。所以,在安排认证之前,应该和银行确认文件的内容和格式是否符合。这样可以帮你节省两次付款的费用。

7. 在香港开设银行帐户的费用是多少?

要想知道开设公司银行帐户的确切费用是不可能的。由于银行的收费政策很不容易理解,即使给出一个范围也很困难。你很容易迷失在他们收取的额外费用中。如果你有足够的勇气,我们鼓励你阅读以下银行的收费政策:

记住这一点,你应至少准备支付开户费用和首次存款。

除了以上费用之外,为了维持帐户,你需要在帐户中保留最低余额,并支付每月的维护费。

最后,由于开设公司银行帐户非常困难,因此许多服务公司会收取几千美元来协助你开户。让你感到沮丧的事情已经变成了让别人有利可图的事情。这些公司不保证开设银行帐户,所以确保你在被拒的情况下得到补偿。

8. 开设公司银行帐户有什么好处?

假设你的公司成功申请了企业银行帐户,你可能想知道“套餐”内包含了什么。

以下是特权享受:
  • 网上银行:你将能够通过银行的数字平台管理你的银行事务。但是,用户友好性和功能在不同平台之间有很大差异。在申请银行帐户之前,有必要先检查平台以免出现意外。
  • 多币种帐户:由于香港是亚洲的金融中心,所以大多数企业银行帐户都是多币种的。若你的公司收到和支付不同的货币,这个功能是相当方便的,主要是因为将帮助你节省外汇佣金
需要注意的陷阱:
  • 付款卡:不要期望收到一张可以随时随地使用的付款卡。你将获得一张借记卡,可用于在香港进行本地支付和自动取款机取款。
  • 糟糕的客户服务: 你对帐户有疑问吗? 请拨打8888 8888,收听预先录制的冗长信息,然后拨1号- 4号- 2号- 9号,然后等待直到你有机会与真人交谈。

9. 除了开设公司银行帐户,还有其他可能的选择吗?

为了节省时间和金钱,你可以考虑在Statrys开一个企业帐户:
  • 100%在线申请 – 无需访问分行
  • 10分钟的时间 – 跳过下一次咖啡时间,你就可以完成申请了
  • 快速响应  –  保证在提交请求后48小时内得到我们的回复。
  • 没有开户费、没有首次存款、没有最低余额 – 我们的定价计划很容易理解和透明。但是,我们可能会对某些提出合规问题的公司收取开户费用 (与在异国他乡注册的公司开展业务是有成本的!)
  • 电话、微信、WhatsApp、Live Chat – 与真人联系以回答你的问题!

你的Statrys商业帐户将使你能够轻松地管理银行事务:100%的在线体验、收款、付款、针对中小企业创的创新外汇工具……

 

申请账户


关于创始人

Bertrand Théaud是Statrys的创始人。在创业过程中,他不可避免地经历了与银行打交道的艰辛,在香港尤其如此。当他意识到有许多中小企业和他一样经历着同样的挑战时,他决定创立Statrys:一个可以替代传统银行的电子平台,专为满足亚洲中小企业和初创企业的需求而设计。

Opening a Business Bank Account in Hong Kong: The Ultimate Guide

Are you starting a new business in Hong Kong, or do you already have an established business you want to expand into Asia?

These are just two of the many scenarios where you will most likely need to open a bank account in Hong Kong.

Let’s get the bad news out the way: opening a bank account in Hong Kong is not an easy task. Be prepared to invest time, and possibly money, with no guarantee that you will have a bank account opened in the end.

Thankfully, we have gathered the common questions to help you to be fully prepared.

1. What kind of bank account for my business?

When you are launching your company, you’ll need a specific kind of bank account: a business bank account. A business bank account is a bank account opened under the name of your company. Some banks also refer to this as a corporate bank account or a commercial bank account.

Why must we clarify this point?

First, you must use the correct terminology when applying for an account.

Second, too many entrepreneurs are carrying out the business of their company using a personal bank account, i.e. an account opened under their name. This is a recipe for disaster when the time comes to do company accounting and pay both corporate and personal taxes.

2. What documents are required?

The first thing to do is to complete the bank account opening form provided by the bank. Most banks have this information available online, meaning that you can download it and have it filled out before you visit the branch.

Below are a few useful links:

 You will also have to gather all the necessary documents required by the bank.

Different banks have different requirements, but the list of documents usually consists of the following:

  • A resolution by the board of directors: the purpose of this resolution is to approve the bank account opening and give one person the authority to handle the application with the bank. The usual practice is to provide power to one of the directors of the company.
  • Establishment documents: all documents proving that your company was duly incorporated and validly registered. For a Hong Kong company, this includes the certificate of incorporation (sample), a valid business registration certificate (sample), and the articles of association.
  • Corporate chart: a chart showing the shareholding and management structure of the company. This chart must present on one page who the directors, the shareholders, and the ultimate beneficial owners of the company are. It must also show the percentage of ownership of each shareholder in the company.
  • ID documents: a copy of the ID documents (passport, ID card, or driver’s license) of the directors, shareholders, and ultimate beneficial owners.
  • Proof of residence: utility bills or bank statements of the directors, shareholders, and ultimate beneficial owners. The evidence of residency must indicate the residence address and usually be dated no more than three months.
  • Business plan: a simplified business plan explaining the company’s business, and that gives projections of the company’s expenses and revenues for the coming 12 months.
  • A Certificate of Incumbency and Certificate of Good Standing for offshore company

Typically, some of the documents must be certified by a lawyer, a public notary, a certified public accountant, or a company secretary. All these professionals will very likely charge you for their service. So, you should check with the bank that it is satisfied with the content and format of the document before arranging for its certification. This will save you the cost of paying twice.

3. Can I open a business bank account even if your company is not in Hong Kong?

Yes. It’s perfectly legal for a company registered outside of Hong Kong to apply for a business bank account in Hong Kong; as it’s perfectly possible for non-residents to apply for it.

 However, banks will often be reluctant to open a bank account for a non-Hong Kong registered company. Put yourself in the banks shoes: why would a company with no presence in Hong Kong need a business bank account here? Opening a bank account is especially questionable when the company is from some exotic location known for its lack of transparency.

If you have business opportunities in the region, you may consider coordinating with a company set up in Hong Kong already, or, have one of your shareholders be a resident.

This would certainly make your life easier with banks and leave you more time to focus on business.

4. Can I open a business bank account online?

No, it’s simply impossible to complete the whole process online! There are a handful of banks that allow you to submit the application form and documents online, but you’ll still need to meet them in Hong Kong to finalize the process.

Typically,  at least one of the directors of the company must visit the bank. However, depending on the bank, a physical meeting may be required for all directors and shareholders.

Don’t think that you can simply show up at a branch, meet with a bank representative, and have the business bank account opened on the spot. Banks have application forms they want you to sign, lists of documents and information they want you to provide. Simply put, do your homework before visiting the bank (check their website/give them a call), or you’ll end up traveling to the most expensive city in the world just to hear a bank representative explain the process to you!

5. What is the cost of opening a bank account in Hong Kong?

You should be prepared to pay, at minimum, an account opening fee and initial deposit.

It’s impossible to tell the exact cost of opening a business bank account. Even giving a range is difficult as the fee policies of banks are far from being easy to understand. You can easily get lost very quickly with the added fees they charge. If you are brave enough, we encourage you to read the fee policies from the following banks:

 On top of fees, to maintain the account, you need to keep a minimum balance in the account as well as pay a monthly maintenance fee.

Finally, because opening a business bank account is so difficult, many corporate service companies will charge you several thousand US dollars to assist you in the process. Not surprisingly what has become a source of frustration can now be profitable business for others. If you would like to consider this, it is important to note these companies do not guarantee the opening of the bank account, so make sure you get reimbursed in case of rejection.

6. How long does it take to open a business bank account?

You should expect several months before your business bank account is up and running. It all starts with meeting a bank representative who will ask you to complete application forms and tell you to submit certain documents and information about your company.

Your application will then go through a review. This review takes a minimum of several weeks, but don’t be surprised if it drags on for a few months, during which time you may be asked to provide more documents and explanations at any given time.

However frustrating it may be, it’s important to remember that there is nothing you can do to accelerate the process.

The process ends with either a “yes” or “no” answer. “No” is a commercial decision by the bank, and the bank will not give you a specific reason for their decision.

7. What are the benefits that come with opening a business bank account?

Assuming your company will be successful with its business bank account application, you may wonder what is in the “package”.

Here are the perks:

  • Online banking: you will be able to manage your banking affairs through the digital platform of the bank. However, user-friendliness and features vary considerably from one platform to the other. It is worth checking the platform before applying for the bank account to avoid any surprises.
  • Multi-currency account: with Hong Kong being a financial hub in Asia, most business bank accounts are multi-currency. This feature is pretty handy if your company receives and makes payment in different currencies, notably because it will help you to save money on FX commissions.

Pitfalls to be aware of:

  • Payment card: don’t expect to receive a payment card that you can use wherever your business brings you. What you will get is a debit card you can use for local payments and ATM withdrawals in Hong Kong only.
  • Poor customer support: You have a question about your account? Call customer support at 8888 8888, listen to the long pre-recorded message, then dial #1 – dial #4 – dial #2 – dial #9 and expect to have a painfully long waiting time until you get the chance to talk to a real person.

8. Why is it difficult to open a business bank account in Hong Kong?

Largely, thanks to international crime activities like that of Pablo Escobar or the Panama papers. To fight these activities, almost every country in the world has decided to impose strict compliance rules on banks. In short, banks must know who their clients are and monitor their transactions. Keeping track of clients is undoubtedly a good thing.

However, as these compliance rules get more strict and complex every year, applying them is increasingly costly for banks, where they also face the risk of multi-billion dollar fines in the case that something goes wrong. In all, this causes the revenue banks generate from SMEs to stagnates.

Do you get the full picture? Costs are on the rise, and the significant risk of fines, means banks are becoming less and less interested in serving your SME business.

This trend isn’t specific to Hong Kong; yet Hong Kong has become one of the countries where it’s most challenging to open a bank account. The business community and local regulators of Hong Kong have even asked banks to address the problem.

9. Is there a possible alternative to opening a business bank account?

You may consider opening a business account with Statrys to save time and money:

  • Application is 100% online – no need to visit a branch
  • 10 minutes of your time – skip your next coffee break, and you will have finished the application
  • Quick response – guaranteed to hear back from us within 48 hours after the request is submitted.
  • No account opening fee, no initial deposit, no minimum balance – our pricing plans are easy to understand and transparent. However, we may charge an account opening fee for certain companies raising compliance questions (doing business with a company registered in an exotic island has a cost!).
  • Phone, Wechat, WhatsApp, Live Chat – get in touch with a real person to answer your questions!

 Your Statrys business account will empower you to manage your banking affairs easily: 100% online experience, receive payments, make payments, innovative forex tools for SMEs…


About the author

Bertrand Théaud is the Founder of Statrys. His entrepreneurial journey has inevitably exposed him to the difficulty in dealing with banks, especially in Hong Kong. When he realised the number of SMEs going through the same challenging experience, he decided to start Statrys: a digital alternative to traditional banks specifically designed to serve the needs of Asian SMEs and start-ups.