CNH與CNY:兩種人民幣之間的區別

中國內地現時為世界上第二大經濟體,閣下必然已經十分熟悉人民幣及其縮略詞RMB。 人民幣是為中國內地國家貨幣之正式名稱,其在普通話中實質上含義為“人民的貨幣”。

但現實中,我們會根據不同目的,使用不同名稱稱呼人民幣。

若閣下到訪過內地,一定亦會熟悉元(¥)。 多數內地人會用“元”稱呼其使用的貨幣。 雖然人民幣與元通常可以互相轉換,但在技術層面上,元只是人民幣的貨幣單位。 就好似英鎊,英鎊(Pound Sterling)是為英國的官方貨幣,而英鎊的單位為英鎊(Pound或Sterling)。

閣下可能亦聽聞過CNY或CNH。 此二專用名詞比起人民幣和元較為罕見,閣下可能會困惑它們是否為人民幣的其他稱呼。

了解CNY與CNH之間的區別是為了解內地外匯政策以及此二貨幣在國際貿易中發揮的作用之關鍵。


CNY和CNH是什麼?


早前,人民幣還未能在中國內地以外地區進行交易。 為實現人民幣國際化,內地推出離岸人民幣,即CNH。 所以,離岸市場將人民幣稱為CNH,而內地在岸市場將人民幣稱為CNY。


由於中國內地並未完全向國際外匯及資本市場開放,因此仍然存在兩種人民幣:
  • CNY是僅在中國內地境內交易的在岸人民幣。
  • CNH是在中國內地境外交易的離岸人民幣。

總而言之,CNY和CNH均為人民幣的一種,可以表達為1CNY=1RMB=1元以及1CNH=1RMB=1元。 但此二貨幣對其他貨幣的交易價格可能有所差異,後文將會更詳細展開討論。

為了解更多關於中國貨幣的資訊,請閣下深入了解由DailyFx寫就之詳盡指引


離岸人民幣(CNH)市場的由來


直至2009年,人民幣結算仍未在中國內地以外地區開放。 直至2009年,人民幣結算仍未在中國內地以外地區開放。

此為人民幣國際化的第一步 , 亦標誌著CNH之誕生,CNH即是人民幣的離岸版,其中H代表香港。

隨後,當局逐步放寬更多限制。 此舉亦推動全球超過30個離岸人民幣市場的發展。 直至目前為止,香港離岸人民幣市場仍更為活躍,但其他國家或地區市場亦正在迅速增長:譬如南韓、馬來西亞、新加坡、澳洲、巴西、英國、歐洲聯盟以及加拿大。


CNY的匯率是多少?


CNY價值受中國內地政府嚴格管控。 中央銀行,即中國人民銀行(PBOC)每天早上會發佈內地交易市場的CNY參考匯率。 然後,在中國內地進行的交易可以按照此參考指標,在其上下2%範圍內進行。

國家外匯管理局(SAFE)作為副部級國家局,亦可以影響CNY匯率。 PBOC和SAFE相當於美國的聯邦儲備局。


CNH的匯率是多少?


與CNY相反,CNH無需面對CNY所受政府限制。 CNH可在全球市場上自由交易,所以其價值會根據國際外匯市場上的買入和賣出量而有所波動。


CNY與CNH之間有什麼區別?


以下為兩種貨幣之間的二大區別:
  1. CNH匯率由自由市場決定而CNY匯率由中國人民銀行決定(詳見下文)。 實質上,兌匯其他外幣時,CNH和CNY的匯率可能會存在差異。
  2. CNH可以在國際外匯市場上與其他貨幣進行自由交易,無需受中國內地資本管控干預,正與需要受內地政府諸多限制的CNY相反。

基本上,CNH和CNY在匯兌其他貨幣時價值不同,有各自的賣出價、買入價及中間價。 此種架構可能出現中國的銀行利用差價謀利的問題。


以下為與最新CNH及CNY交易預測和報告有關之實用連結:

此二人民幣匯率對閣下向中國內地匯款的方式有什麼影響?


由於進出內地的資金流動受到嚴格監管,向內地匯款可能會成本較高而且到賬緩慢。 此類監管十分複雜而且往往變動頻繁,因此閣下可能難以適應其不斷變化的環境。 而且雙重貨幣亦可能令閣下感到困惑,並且根據當時匯率的利好程度不同,影響閣下的匯款結果。

有一個好消息,我們可以向閣下提供可靠而便捷的支付服務,可以幫助閣下與內地進行收付款交易。 閣下無需再擔心如何區別CNY及CNH匯率,我們將幫助閣下盡可能以更好的匯率執行交易。

還有一點需要提示閣下,請閣下在向中國內地進行CNH支付之前,確保手頭上有收款人的SWIFT及CNAPS代碼。 如需了解更多詳細資訊,請查閱我們的國際支付指南



關於創始人

Jonathan Cusimano是Statrys的外汇部主管, 拥有接近十年在银行业和金融科技的经验,已为许多中小型企业提供外汇对冲交易及资金管理的重点策略和专业意见。

Topics:支付

CNH vs CNY: The Differences Between the Two Chinese Renminbi

As Mainland China’s economy is now the 2nd largest in the world, you must have become familiar with the Renminbi and its abbreviation RMB. Renminbi is the official name of Mainland China’s national currency and it actually means “people’s currency” in Mandarin.

However, in reality, the Renminbi has multiple names with different purposes.

On this note, if you have been to China, you must also be familiar with the Yuan (¥). That’s the name by which many Chinese people call their currency. Although Renminbi and Yuan are often used interchangeably, the Yuan is technically a unit of the Renminbi currency. The best analogy is to think of the Pound Sterling, which is the official currency of the United Kingdom, and whose unit is often referred to by a different name, the Pound or the Sterling.

Now, you may also have heard of CNY or CNH. These two terms are less common than Renminbi and Yuan and you may wonder if they are just other names to call the same thing.

Understanding the characteristics and differences of CNY and CNH is key in navigating through China’s foreign exchange policy and the currencies’ roles in international trading.

What are CNY and CNH?

It was not so long ago that the Renminbi was not available to be traded outside of Mainland China. In a bid to begin internationalising its currency, China launched an offshore version of the Renminbi called CNH. So, whilst the offshore market refers to the Renminbi as CNH, in the onshore Mainland China market, the Renminbi is called CNY.

As Mainland China is still not completely open to international foreign exchange and capital markets, the two types of Renminbi still remain a reality to this day:
  • CNY is onshore RMB currency traded within Mainland China only.
  • CNH is offshore RMB currency traded outside of Mainland China.

In conclusion, both CNY and CNH are a type of RMB, as such 1 CNY = 1 RMB = 1 Yuan and 1 CNH = 1 RMB = 1 Yuan. However, they do not necessarily trade at the same price against other currencies, we cover this in more detail at a later stage in this article.

To find out more about the Chinese currency, dive into this comprehensive guide by the DailyFX.

The origins of the offshore RMB (CNH) market

Up until 2009, RMB settlements were not permitted outside Mainland China. That year, for the first time in its history, authorities removed limitations on RMB trade settlements between China and Hong Kong.

This was the first step into internationalising the Renminbi. It was marked with the creation of CNH, the offshore version of the Renminbi, where “H” actually stands for Hong Kong.

From then on, more restrictions have incrementally been eased by the authorities. This inherently led to the development of more than 30 offshore RMB markets worldwide. The more active one is still Hong Kong by far, but some others are growing fast: South Korea, Malaysia, Singapore, Australia, Brazil, the United Kingdom, the European Union and Canada.

What is the CNY rate?

The value of CNY is tightly managed and controlled by the Chinese government. The central bank, the People’s Bank of China (PBOC), releases a reference rate every morning for CNY which is used in the trade market within Mainland China. Trades completed in Mainland China can then be done within 2% of this reference value.

The State Administration of Foreign Exchange (SAFE) is a secondary regulator that can also impact the exchange rate of CNY. The PBOC and SAFE are the equivalent of the Federal Reserve in the United States of America.

What is the CNH rate?

Contrary to CNY, CNH does not face the same governmental restrictions as CNY. It is freely traded on global markets, and so its value fluctuates based on buy and sell volume in the international exchange market.

What are the differences between CNY and CNH?

There are two significant differences between the two denominations:
  1. The exchange rate of CNH is decided by the free market vs CNY which is determined by the People’s Bank of China (more on this below). Essentially, what this means is that at times there can be discrepancies between the exchange rates of CNH and CNY when compared to another foreign currency.
  2. CNH can be traded freely against other currencies in the international exchange markets, without any interference from Mainland China’s capital controls, as opposed to CNY which abides by restrictions imposed by the Chinese government.

Basically, CNH and CNY are worth different amounts if compared to another foreign currency, and they both have their own sell, buy and mid-market rate. The issue that can arise with this structure is that it gives Chinese banks opportunities to take advantage of pricing differentials.

Below are useful links for all the latest CNH vs CNY trading forecasts and reports:

How do these two exchange rates for the RMB impact the way you send money to China?

Because the money movements coming in and out of China are highly regulated, sending money to China can be expensive and slow. These regulations are complex and tend to change quite often, it can be difficult to follow this changing landscape. Not to mention that the dual currency can also be confusing and impact the outcome of your remittance, depending on which rate is most favourable at the time.

The good news is that we offer a reliable and easy payment service that will facilitate your payments to and from China. You will not ever have to worry about distinguishing CNY or CNH rates, we will execute the conversion at the best possible rate for you.

One more tip before making a CNH payment to China, make sure you have your beneficiary’s SWIFT and CNAPS codes handy. Check our international payment guide for more details.


About the author

Jonathan Cusimano is Head of FX at Statrys. With nearly a decade of experience in banking and Fintech, Jonathan has advised and assisted many SMEs in their FX hedging and treasury management strategies.

Topics:Payments